français

Home > About us > Scientific priorities




Search

OSUG - Terre Univers Environnement

Scientific priorities

13 September 2013 ( last update : 14 September 2017 )

Our research projects aim at understanding ecosystem functioning and the maintenance of biodiversity.
We are developing an integrated research (i) to describe the biodiversity patterns (spatial and temporal) at local to global scales, (ii) to understand the evolutionary and ecological processes shaping these patterns, and (iii) to depict the mechanisms underlying their dynamics in response to environmental forcing (climate change, pollution, land use change,...).
We rely on short- and long-term observation, experimentation and modelling. We use our results to model and predict the response of biodiversity and ecosystems to global changes. We address societal issues related to the evaluation of ecosystem services, environment management and conservation of biodiversity.
We are one of the few laboratories in France with a primary focus on mountain systems.

Our research is organized into 8 scientific thematics :

DIVADAPT — Adaptation, diversification and the origins of biodiversity
We are studying the genetic basis of adaptation and of speciation (reproductive isolation, shaping of hybrid zones ,...), and determining the evolutionary origins of biodiversity patterns (tempo and mode of species diversification, influence of environmental factors and key morphological innovations).
Methods: genome scans, genetic architecture, transcriptomics, phylogenies, comparative methods

INTERSPE — Species interaction networks: a functional perspective
This thematic focusses on the spatio-temporal dynamics of large herbivore communities in response to biotic and abiotic drivers, on the structure of interspecific networks and ecosystem functions (e.g. plant-herbivores/pollinators), on the modelling links between environmental drivers and ecosystem functioning
Methods: long-term monitoring, behavioural observations, chemical ecology, genetics, metabarcoding, ecological network analyses, trait-based models

PALEOENV — Paleo-environnements: A Long-term perspective on mountain ecosystems trajectories
We are reconstructing the trajectories of human-nature interacting systems to identify the drivers of the observed changes. This involves assessing the impact of human activities on the dynamics and functioning of environments, and modelling how these dynamics influence the distribution of biodiversity (e.g. development of communities after glacial retreats)
Methods: environmental DNA metabarcoding, isotope geochemistry, ancient DNA

MALBIO — Mathematics and string algorithmics for studying biodiversity
We are developing mathematical and computational methods for the analysis of DNA metabarcoding data (e.g., taxonomic assignment), the assembling of low coverage genome (e.g., organelle genomes from eDNA), and the analysis of individual whole genome resequencing data in population genomics (e.g.,detecting genome variation on non-model organisms)
Methods: clustering algorithms, supervised classifications, assembling algorithms, k-mer statistics, graph theory, statistical inferences

XPADE — Xenobiotic Pressure: Adaptation and Dysfunction of Ecosystems
We are studying the impacts of realistic multi-pollution pressures at the organism and sub-organism levels, the long-term impacts of pollutants under controlled conditions at a multigenerational scale, and the effect of pollutants under multiple environmental stresses in natural areas
Methods: micro/meso-cosms, ecotoxicology,genomics & transcriptomics, metabarcoding, population dynamics modelling

BIOGEOCHEM — Biogeochemistry: Linking biodiversity and nutrient cycling in permanent grasslands
We aim at understanding the interactions between functional biodiversity and biogeochemical cycling (N, C, H2O), at representing functional diversity in land surface models, characterizing the effect of nutrient cycling on the role of biodiversity and its impact on ecosystem resistance/resilience
Methods: remote sensing, sensors for climate, multi-isotopic approaches, metabarcoding, metatranscriptomics, carbon exchange, biogeochemical & land surface modelling,

MACROECO — Macroecology and metacommunity assembly rules: applications to biodiversity modelling and conservation
Our goal is to understand how history, environmental factors, and processes of species coexistence shape the assembly of communities and ecosystems. We are developing biodiversity models and statistical approaches for studying biodiversity as a function of time, space and level of organisation, and building quantitative scenarios of biodiversity (local to global scale) in link with conservation actions & management of protected areas
Methods: Transplant experiments, large-scale biodiversity surveys, metabarcoding, simulations, process-based & meta-community models

SERVALP — Dynamics of socio-ecosystems in a changing world
We are coupling ecological models for quantifying ecosystem services (effects of climate and land use on service-providing biodiversity, biodiversity effects on ecosystem functioning). We are studying the mechanisms determining trade-offs and synergies among multiple ecosystem services, and building integrated scenarios of land use, biodiversity and ecosystem services by combining participative scenario building & ecosystem service models
Methods: geostatistics, land-use & agent-based models, ecological network analysis, social valuation, participative research, ...

Our research relies on several technical facilities.




Under the authority of :



Credits and legal notices | Contact | Site Map | © OSUG  2017

English

Accueil > Le laboratoire > Axes de recherche




Rechercher

OSUG - Terre Univers Environnement

Axes de recherche

13 septembre 2013 ( dernière mise à jour : 14 septembre 2017 )

Le but des recherches de l’unité est de comprendre le fonctionnement des écosystèmes et le maintien de la biodiversité. Nous développons une recherche intégrée pour décrire les patrons (spatiaux, temporels) de biodiversité de l’échelle locale à l’échelle globale, comprendre les processus (évolutifs, écologiques) à leur origine et les mécanismes sous-jacents à leur dynamique sous l’influence de forçages environnementaux (changement climatiques, pollution, changement d’utilisation des terres,...).
Nous nous basons sur l’observation (à court et long terme), l’expérimentation et la modélisation. Nos travaux nous permettent de développer des modèles prédisant la réponse de la biodiversité aux changements. Nous les appliquons pour résoudre des questions sociétales en lien avec l’évaluation des services rendus par les écosystèmes, la gestion de l’environement, la conservation de la biodiversité.
Une partie importante de notre activité est centrée sur les écosystèmes d’altitude.

Notre recherche se développe autour de huit thématiques scientifiques :.

DIVADAPT — Adaptation, diversification et origines de la biodiversité
Il s’agit d’étudier les bases génétiques des mécanismes d’adaptation, de spéciation (isolement reproducteur, zones hybrides, ainsi que les origines évolutives des patrons de biodiversité (tempo et mode de diversification des espèces, influence des facteurs environnementaux et innovations morphologiques clés).
Méthodes : scans génomique, architecture génétique, transcriptomique, phylogénies, méthodes comparatives

INTERSPE — Réseaux d’interactions entre espèces : une perspective fonctionnelle
Nous étudions la dynamique spatio-temporelle des communautés de grands herbivores en réponse aux facteurs biotiques et abiotiques, caractérisons la structure des réseaux inter-spécifiques et les fonctions des écosystèmes (e.g. plantes-herbivores/pollinisateurs). Une partie de l’activité concerne la modélisation des liens entre facteurs environnementaux et fonctionnement des écosystèmes .
Méthodes : monitoring à long terme, observations comportementales, écologie chimique, génétique, métabarcoding, analyses de réseaux écologiques, modélisation

PALEOENV — Paléo-environnements : perspective à long terme des trajectoires des écosystèmes de montagne
Cet axe a pour objectif de reconstruire les trajectoires des systèmes d’interactions homme-nature pour identifier les moteurs des changement. Cela implique par exemple d’évaluer l’impact des activités humaines sur les dynamiques et le fonctionnement de leur environnement, de modéliser l’influence de ces dynamiques sur la distribution de la biodiversité (e.g. développement des communautés après les retraits glaciaires)
Méthodes : ADN environmental et métabarcoding, géochimie isotopique, ADN ancien

MALBIO — Mathématiques et algorithmique pour l’étude de la biodiversité
Les développements de méthodes mathématiques et algorithmiques trouvent leurs applications dasn l’analyse de données de métabarcoding ADN (e.g., assignation taxonomique), l’assemblage de génomes basse couverture (e.g., génomes d’organelle à partir de données d’ADN environnemental), l’analyse de reséquençage individuel basse couverture en génomique des populations (e.g., détection de variants sur des organismes non modèles)
Méthodes : algorithmes de clustering, classifications supervisées, algorithmes d’assemblage, k-mer statistiques, théorie des graphes, inférence statistique

XPADE — Pressions xénobiotiques : Adaptation et dysfonctionnement des écosystèmes
Nous étudions les impacts de multi-pollutions environnementales sur les organismes et les organes, les impacts à l’échelle multi-générationelle de polluants en condition contrôlées, les effet des polluants en condition de stress environnementaux multiples en milieu naturel
Méthodes : micro/méso-cosmse, écotoxicologie, génomique & transcriptomique, métabarcoding, modélisation en dynamique des populations

BIOGEOCHEM — Biogéochimie : relier biodiversité et cycles des nutriments dans les prairies permanentes
Nos travaux concernent les interactions fonctionnelles entre biodiversité et cycles biogéochimiques (N, C, H2O). Nous développons des représentations fonctionnelles de la diversité dans les modèles land surface, caractérisons les effets des cycles des nutriments sur le rôle de la biodiversité et leur impact sur la résistance/résilience des écosystèmes.
Méthodes : télédétection, capteurs climatiques, approches multi-isotopiques, métabarcoding, métatranscriptomique, échanges de carbone, modèles biogéochimiques et de surface du sol

MACROECO — Macroécologie et règles d’assemblage des métacommunautés : applications à la modélisation de la biodiversité et à la conservation
Nos études visent à comprendre comment l’histoire, les facteurs environnementaux, et les processus de coexistence d’espèces modèlent les assemblages de communautés et les écosystèmes. Nous développons des modèles de biodiversité et des approches statistiques pour étudier la biodiversité en fonction du temps, de l’espace et du niveau d’organisation. Nous produisons des scénarios quantitatifs de biodiversité (échelle locale à globale) en lien avec la conservation et la gestion des zones protégées .
Méthodes : Transplantations, inventaires de biodiversité à grande échelle, metabarcoding, simulations, modélisation

SERVALP — Dynamique des socio-ecosystèmes dans un monde changeant
Cette thématique utilise le couplage de modèles écologiques pour la quantification des services écosystémiques (effets du climat et de l’utilisation des terres sur les services rendus par la biodiversité, effets de la biodiversité sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes). Nous déterminons les mécanismes à l’origine des compromis et synergies entre services écosystémiques, développons des scénarios intégrés d’utilisation des terres, de biodiversité et de services écosystémiques combinant construction participative et modélisation des services.
Méthodes : géostatistiques, modèles d’utilisation des terres et multi-agents, analyses de réseaux écologiques, valorisation sociale, recherche participative

La recherche au laboratoire est effectuée au sein de plusieurs plateaux techniques.




Sous la tutelle de :



Crédit et mentions légales | Contact | Plan du site | © OSUG  2017