français

Home > Research > Research teams
(2011-2015)
> P3E > Scientific topics




Search

OSUG - Terre Univers Environnement

Scientific topics

12 November 2013 ( last update : 27 November 2013 )

Polluted environments provide ideal testing grounds for investigations mechanism and process of adaptation. Much of our understanding of the acclimatization to pollution comes from short term (1 generation) study of xenobiotic impacts on individual native from unpolluted areas. Such studies indicate whether phenotypic plasticity plays a role in the short-term response to this new environment but lacks in information on how this phenomenon may facilitate or impede adaptation (during several generation of exposure) to pollution. On the over side, studies at the population level on individuals living in polluted environment or not offer several important advantages for identifying genetic mechanism of adaptation and loci playing a role in pollution tolerance. After candidate loci have been identified, it is then possible to conduct experiment for evaluating their phenotypic plasticity in different environmental conditions.

JPEG - 66.6 kb

In France and Europe, many teams are interesting in ecotoxicology. The particularity of our team is to be leader in the development and application of innovative tools to go beyond classical descriptive ecotoxicological studies. Moreover, we continuously make efforts to evaluate the potential applications of the findings highlighted by our research. In term of direct application, we develop innovative tools for optimizing 1) preventive actions (biomarkers) 2) expertise, especially concerning “hot topics” such as the control of vector insects such as mosquitoes and 3) new methods and strategies for the restoration of ecosystems (ecoremediation).

 

Given these objectives, our research is organized into two main, interrelated axes:
 
Axe 1- Study the organism response to pollution pressure at different levels of biological integration (genes, transcriptome, biochemical, physiological, immunological and histological parameters, fitness, community modification….) over short (acclimatization) and long term (adaptation) periods.
 
Axe 2- Apply findings from the axe 1 for preventing and expertise actions and develop innovative tools to go beyond classical descriptive ecotoxicological studies.




Under the authority of :



Credits and legal notices | Contact | Site Map | © OSUG  2017

English

Accueil > Recherche > Equipes
(2011-2015)
> P3E > Thématiques




Rechercher

OSUG - Terre Univers Environnement

Thématiques

12 novembre 2013 ( dernière mise à jour : 27 novembre 2013 )

Les environnements pollués offrent des lieux de tests idéaux pour comprendre les mécanismes et processus d’adaptation. La majorité de notre compréhension de l’acclimatation à la pollution provient d’études à court terme (1 génération) de l’impact de xénobiotiques sur des animaux provenant d’environnements non pollués. De telles études indiquent comment la plasticité phénotypique joue un rôle dans la réponse à court terme à ce nouvel environnement. Elles manquent cependant d’informations sur la capacité de ce phénomène à faciliter ou à handicaper l’adaptation (durant plusieurs générations d’exposition). D’un autre côté, les études au niveau de la population sur des individus vivants dans des environnements pollués offrent la possibilité d’identifier les mécanismes génétiques de l’adaptation et les loci jouant un rôle dans la tolérance à pollution. Une fois ces loci candidats identifiés, il est alors possible d’évaluer leur plasticité phénotypique dans différentes conditions environnementales.

JPEG - 66.6 ko

En France et en Europe, de nombreuses équipes sont intéressées par l’écotoxicologie. La particularité de notre équipe est d’être leader dans le développement et l’application d’outils innovants dans le but d’aller au-delà des études écotoxicologiques descriptives classiques. De plus, nous faisons des efforts permanents pour évaluer les possibles applications de nos recherches. En termes d’applications directes, nous développons des outils innovants pour optimiser 1) des actions de prévention (biomarqueurs) 2) l’expertise, spécialement pour le control des insectes vecteurs de maladie comme les moustiques et 3) de nouvelles méthodes et stratégies pour la restauration des écosystèmes (écoremédiation).

 

Ces objectifs donnés, notre recherche s’organise autour de deux axes principaux interdépendants :
 
Axe 1- Etudier la réponse des organismes à la pollution à différents niveau d’organisation biologiques (gènes, transcriptome, paramètres biochimiques, physiologique, immunologique et histologiques, fitness, modification des communautés…) à court (acclimatation) et long termes (adaptation).
 
Axe 2- Appliquer les résultats de l’axe 1 pour des actions de prévention ou d’expertise et développer des outils innovants pour aller au-delà des études écotoxicologiques descriptives classiques.




Sous la tutelle de :



Crédit et mentions légales | Contact | Plan du site | © OSUG  2017